Irish Minibike Championship: Conditions play their part for Round Four

HEAVY rain hampered the fourth round of the Irish Minibike Championship at Bishopscourt Race Circuit on Sunday.

On and off showers throughout the day were less than ideal, but credit must go to the organisers with all classes getting two races before the lunch break. Racing resumed after lunch, but the weather was not to hold off and, with only three races to go out of 24, the organisers called a halt to the meeting.

Adam Lee McStavog won the opening EICL/TAG Racing 140 Stock Group 2 race after early leader Michael McAllister made a mistake. Mark Dagger was second and Luke Galligan  third. McAllister made amends in race two to win from McStravog and Monaghan, before doubling up in the third race, again winning from McStravog with Owen Everhard third.

Jake O’Sullivan won all three 140 Stock Group 1 races, heading home Kelan Smith and Richard McFarland in race one. McFarland was second in race two with Jason Floody third. Daniel Maloney was runner-up in race three with McFarland third.

The Junior Elite class gave Buster Sherman-Boyd the win from Lewis Mullan and Joel Haire in race one. Mullan won race two from Sherman-Boyd with Haire again third. The final race went to Mullan, who was the winner overall in the four stroke section of this combined race from Haire.

Ben Finnerty was unbeatable in the Bam Bam class, winning all three races from Cody Brennan and Jake Todd. Buster Sherman-Boyd took all three race wins in the Senior Open class, beating Karl McMahon and Raymond McKnight in race one, Joe Quinn and McKnight in race two and Quinn and McKnight in race three.

Boyd Knipe won the first Junior Gearbox race from Cian Daly and Zak Turkington while Daly took victory in race two from Knipe and William Graham. Race three did not take place due to the bad weather.

The Stock Veterans class also only got two races with Marty Lennon winning both, the first from Kelan Smith and Mark Todd and the second from Patrick Dagger and Smith.

Finally, Alfie Flynn won both Neil Robinson Memorial Trophy races from Hubert Tomaszewski and Buster Sherman-Boyd.